IPL: Players Who Have Played Only For One Franchise Having A Long Career In IPL- Know The Reason

The 15th edition of the IPL Tournament with 10 Teams of affairs started on 26th March 2022. The biggest event ever in history began with delighted crowds, an array of superstars, Towering sixes, falling stumps, and whistling trumpets. You will see these at the Indian Premier League, one of the most famous T20 League globally. A successfully organized cash-rich league has truly been madness and cricket love in the cricketing world since the inaugural event in 2008.

Players who have played only for one franchise
Players who have played only for one franchise

With adding two new teams in IPL and the recent Mega auction bringing many players in the IPL 2022, players keep changing franchises to find new homes every year or while changing Jersey is the modern fashion nowadays. Still, very few players have existed with proclaimed loyalty to one side since 2008, and this is why players who have played only for one franchise having a long career in IPL. Earlier, IPL had only 8 Teams but now Became 10 Teams of IPL tournaments. 

By earning big bucks for their cricketing talents in the recent mega auction held at Bengaluru, IPL has proven that It is a dream-fulfilling platform with big bucks for cricketers globally. International Premier League, India’s pet T20 league, has been rated one of the best tournaments conducted in sports globally.

We have listed those players who have played only for one franchise having a long career in IPL.

List of Players who have played only for one franchise

1. Virat Kohli For Royal Challengers Banglore (since 2008):

Batsman Virat Kohli has played only for Royal Challengers Banglore since 2008, the inception year of IPL. he was the only player retained by RCB in the auction held on 8th January 2011 and RCB made him the vice-captain to Skipper Daniel Vettori. In the absence of Daniel Vettori, Virat Kohli took the captaincy in 2013. Kohli stepped down as captain in 2022 and handed over the reins to Faf du Plessis, who takes charge of the Royal Challenger Bangalore Team. Kohli played a total of 208 matches with 5 centuries and 42 half-centuries in his IPL career since his IPL debut and scored 6324, which is the highest record of run score in IPL at an average of 37.6. Hence, he is also called Run Machine.

2. Mahendra Singh Dhoni for Chennai Super Kings (since 2008):

Chennai Super Kings singular captain MS Dhoni, who had brilliantly taken over captainship responsibility throughout his IPL career, started from IPL’s inception year 2008-2015 and 2018-2021. He played 221 IPL matches with 24 half-centuries while leading the CSK team, and scored 4796 runs at an average of 40 in his whole IPL journey since 2008. Under his captainship, CSK won four times IPL titles in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021, having IPL winning average of nearly 60% since 2008. The CSK Franchise was the first team, who have won back-to-back IPL championships and apart from that, CSK also won a Champions League T20 trophy. Dhoni resigned from captaincy on 24th March ahead of the tournament in 2022 for giving a fabulous opportunity to Ravindra Jadeja as a Captain. For CSK, whosoever is the captain, Dhoni will be at the helm. 

Earlier, it was CSK’s captain MS Dhoni, but then it became MS Dhoni’s CSK. Subsequently, MS Dhoni will continue to play for Chennai Super Kings this season and the season ahead.

3. Sunil Narine for Kolkata Knight Riders (since 2012):

All-Rounder Narine played only for one franchise having a long career in IPL and has played 135 matches with scored 954 and took 143 wickets at an economy rate of 6.72 since 2012 with Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR bought him in the 2012 IPL auctions as KKR were attracted to his consistently outstanding performances in limited-overs cricket. Narine finished the season by taking a total of 24 wickets in that year’s tournament and was considered the second-highest wicket-taker of the match. His contribution helped Kolkata reserve their chaste IPL title and Narine won the title “Player of the Match” for 2012.

4. Kieron Pollard for Mumbai Indians (since 2010):

All-Rounder Kieron Pollard has played a total of 179 IPL matches with 16 half-centuries, having scored 3271 at an average of 29.7 and taken 65 wickets at an economy rate of 8.76 since his IPL debut in 2010 with Mumbai Indians. He played only for one franchise having a long career in IPL. His stellar performance against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the semi-final in his debut, for which he considered MOTM for his All-round performance. Pollard is the first player in Mumbai Indians who played with a long-time career. He has contributed to Mumbai Indians throughout the 12th consecutive year and played a critical role in Mumbai Indians winning their 5th IPL title. He has won the “Player Of Match Awards” fourteen times for Mumbai Indians in his IPL career.

5. Rohit Sharma for Mumbai Indians (since 2011):

Batsman Rohit Sharma debuted his IPL Career in 2008, But he consistently has played for Mumbai Indians since 2011 as Mumbai Indians were bought him for US$2 million in the 2011 Auction. Since 2013, In Mumbai Indians, He has been one of the most successful players in the IPL as a captain. He scored his only IPL century with 109* against the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2012 Tournament, the highest run score. Under his leadership, Mumbai Indians have won the tournament five times in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. As of March 2022, he has been considered one of six players who scored 5,000 career runs in the competition. Sharma has 5,652 runs at an average of 31.2, with one century and 40 half-centuries and is the third-highest run-scorer after Virat Kohli (6,283) and Shikhar Dhawan (5,784).

6.Ravindra Jadeja Played for Chennai Super Kings since 2012:

All-Rounder Ravindra Jadeja has played 201 matches, scored 2412 at an average of 27.41 and took 127 wickets at an economy rate of 7.60 in his IPL career since 2008. In 2012, IPL players auction, Chennai Super Kings drafted him for US$2 million, which was approx of Rs 9.8 crores; he was the most expensive player and his IPL journey started with the CSK unit as an integral part of it. He is one of the best all-rounders, best bowler, best batsman, and best fielder in the world. He is unbeatable, particularly in Indian conditions. Jadeja remains to stay with the yellow army, and CSK has rewarded him with the captaincy title in the team for being loyal to the franchise. In 2022, He is the first player retained by the CSK unit. Jadeja has been considered one of the greatest fielders in recent times.

7. Jasprit Bumrah for Mumbai Indians (since 2013):

Fast Bowler Jasprit Bumrah has played 107 IPL matches and taken 130 Wickets at an economy rate of 7.46 since his debut in IPL 2013 with Mumbai Indians Team. Bumrah has become one of the premier fast bowlers globally with an average speed of 142 km/h, his shortest being 153.26 km/h and he also became the leader of Mumbai Indians’ bowling attack. In 2019, He has also entitled the player of the match for the IPL final, and almost he was a single player who contributed to winning Mumbai Indians in the tournament. Fans also called him “Boom.” He is one of the strong players in Mumbai Indians.

These are having a long career in IPL while earning their name, fame, and money, and achieving more success in the same franchise. This loyalty brings them close to winning in the franchise while playing in IPL.

Read More – How Ravindra Jadeja becomes Chennai Super King Ship Captain

For more updates connected with us – Twitter,Facebook,Googlenews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Post