Who Owns Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2022? Owners Stake, its Brand Value, Captain and Coaching Staff, Schedule, Venue and Players List with Auctioned Price

Sanju Samson led Rajasthan Royals for the upcoming season, starting from 26th March Onwards. Many of us are curious about Who Run and Controlled Rajasthan Royals. But this article helps you understand all about RR; who owns Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2022? Owners Stake, its Brand Value, CaptainandCoaching Staff, Schedule, Venue and Players list with auctioned price, so Let’s get started.

Rajasthan Royals- 2022
Rajasthan Royals- 2022

History of Rajasthan Royals (RR) :

Rajasthan Royals (RR) came into existence in 2008 as one of the original eight franchises that launched at the introductory event of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Emerging Media won Jaipur-based Franchise Rajasthan Royals (RR) with a bid of $67 million, making it the least expensive team in the IPL league. Rajasthan Royals are known to unearth hidden, high potential talent and their involvement in several controversies and scandals. It is often considered the “Moneyball” team of IPL. The home ground of Rajasthan Royals is Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. 

Under the leadership of veteran Australian cricketer late Shane Warne, Rajasthan Royals won the opening edition by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final. 

Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were suspended due to a betting scandal in 2013 for two years by the Supreme Court of India announced on 14th July 2015. Hence they could not participate in IPL tournaments for the 2016 and 2017 seasons. Rajasthan Royals came back to the IPL Tournament in 2018.

Who Owns Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2022?

As of 2021, The Real Owners of Rajasthan Royals are Manoj Badale led Emerging Media IPL Ltd holds a 65% stake, RedBird Capital Partners (15%) and Lachlan Murdoch (13%). 

1. Manoj Badale (65% stake):

Emerging Media IPL Ltd (EMIPL), owned and controlled by Manoj Badale, becomes the majority shareholder of Rajasthan Royals and has a stake of 65% in the IPL franchise.

2.RedBird Capital Partners (15% stake):

US-based private investment firm RedBird Capital Partners, which has a stake in Liverpool and Boston Red Sox, has picked up a 15% stake in Rajasthan Royals for an undisclosed amount. Rajasthan Royal stake is the first formal investment by RedBird Capital Partners with a global portfolio of sports investments into the homegrown cricketing league.

3 . Lachlan Murdoch (13% shares):

Lachlan Keith Murdoch is an Australian-British-American businessman and one of the co-owners of the Rajasthan Royals. His Blue Water Estate Ltd owns 13% shares in the franchise.

Rajasthan Royals Brand value :

According to sports.info, Rajasthan Royals estimated its Brand Value to be around US$43 million (₹327 crores) in December 2019, which has further dropped to ₹ 263 crores in 2021. Their brand value recently declined due to Rajasthan Royals’ two-year suspension for their involvement in the IPL 2013 spot-fixing controversy.

IPL 2008, The Franchise was bought at the lowest price for $67 million, followed by 2009-2013, the franchise was co-owned by Bollywood actor Shilpa Shetty and her businessman husband, Raj Kundra.

Rajasthan Royals captain and Coaching Staff :

Rajasthan Royals appointed Sanju Samson as a captain for the upcoming IPL season.

Head coach- Kumar Sangakkara :

Cricket legend Kumar Sangakkara was appointed as the new director of cricket and head Coach at Rajasthan Royals in 2021.

Assistant Coach-Trevor Penny :

Rajasthan Royals has decided to go with Trevor Penny, who was already the side’s assistant coach. Earlier, He was the head coach of Sri Lanka at the international level and served in different coaching capacities in a few IPL & CPL franchises.

Fast bowling coach – Lasith Malinga :

Former cricketer of Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga is the fast bowling coach, whereas Steffan Jones is a High-Performance Fast bowling coach roped On 4th March 2022 by Rajasthan Royals.

Fielding Coach- Dishanth Yagnik :

Former Rajhsatan wicket-keeper Dishanth Yagnik will perform the duties as fielding coach of Rajasthan Royals.

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players ahead of the mega auction:

The RR captain and a wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson (Rs.14 crores) was the first choice of the franchise to retain the player and a right-handed batsman wicket-keeper Jos Buttler (Rs.10 crores) along with Batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rs.4 crores) are the three players retained ahead of the IPL 2022 mega-auction. After retaining three Players ahead of the mega auction, Rajasthan Royals had 62 Crores in their remaining Purse for the IPL Mega Auction 2022.

Rajasthan Royals Players picked at Two-day Mega Auction 2022:

Rajasthan Royals (RR) have signed 21 more new players in the mega auction 2022. Bowler Prasidh Krishna has become the most expensive player roped for Rs. 10 Crores and Rajasthan Royals picked the batter Shimron Hetmyer is the second most expensive player bought for Rs.8.5 Crores.

The Royals started the auction with the purchase of first player Ravichandran Ashwin, roped for Rs. 5 Crores, and also added 7 more players, including two overseas players, to their team in the Day 1 mega auction, and 13 players bought on Day 2 of Mega auction. In Mega Auction, Royal Franchise bought 21 players Consisting of 6 All Rounders, 1 Wicket-keeper, 4 Batsman, and 10 Bowler.

RR’s First Match with whom and Venue:

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) First Match with Sunrisers Hyderabad will be played on 29th March at 7.30 Pm at MCA Stadium, Pune.

Rajasthan Royals Squad Details with Auctioned Priced For IPL 2022:

Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler (R), Devdutt Padikkal (Rs 7.75 CR), Yashasvi Jaiswal (R), R Ashwin (Rs 5 CR), Trent Boult (Rs 8 CR), Shimron Hetmyer (Rs 8.5 CR), Prasidh Krishna (Rs 10 CR), Riyan Parag (Rs 3.8 CR), KC Cariappa (Rs 30 L), Navdeep Saini (Rs. 2.60 CR), Anunay Singh (Rs 20 L), Kuldeep Sen (Rs 20 L), Obed McCoy (Rs 75 L), Karun Nair (Rs 1.40 CR), Dhruv Jurel (Rs 20 L), Tejas Baroka (Rs 20 L), Yuzvendra Chahal (Rs 6.5 CR), Kuldeep Yadav (Rs 20 L), Shubham Garhwal (Rs 20 L), James Neesham (Rs 1.50 CR), Nathan Coulter-Nile (Rs 2 CR), Rassie Van Der Dussen (Rs 1 CR), Daryl Mitchell (Rs 75 L)

Read More – How the IPL Salaries Structure works and Difference between BCCI contracts and IPL salaries

For more updates connected with us – Twitter,Facebook,Googlenews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Post